Listen To Royce Da 5’9 New Album “The Allegory”

By on February 21, 2020

As promised, Royce Da 5’9 has delivered The Allegory, his follow-up to 2018’s Book Of Ryan. 

Boasting 22 tracks, the project includes contributions from Westside Gunn, Benny The Butcher, CyHI The Prynce, T.I., Vince Staples and G Perico, among others.

Nickle Nine opened up about the project in a recent interview with the Metro Times. 

“This is the first album that has ever happened to me,” Royce said. “After Book of Ryan, I didn’t have anything that I really just needed to say. I would come in here and watch TV, play around —  it happened really organically.”

The project kicks off with a conversation between motivational speaker/author Derrick Grace who is talking to his daughter about financial responsibility. It then tackles the topic of freedom on each track that follows.

Royce, who produced every song on the album, added, “I hope that it starts a narrative and a conversation that it’s OK to be smart, it’s OK to be Hip Hop. It’s OK to have balance.”

Check out the album stream, cover art and tracklist below.

1. Mr. Grace (Intro)
2. Dope Man f. Emanny & Cedric The Entertainer
3. I Don’t Age
4. Pendulum’ f. Ashley Sorrell
5. I Play Forever f. Grafh
6. Ice Cream (Interlude)
7. On The Block f. Oswin Benjamin & DJ Premier
8. Generation Is Broken
9. Overcomer f. WestSide Gunn
10. Mrs. Grace (Interlude)
11. Thou Shall f. Kid Vishis
12. FUBU f. Conway The Machine
13. A Black Man Favorite Shoe (Skit)
14. Upside Down f. Ashley Sorrell & Benny The Butcher
15. Perspective (Skit)
16. Tricked f. KXNG Crooked
17. Black People In America
18. Black Savage f. Sy Ari Da Kid, White Gold, CyHi The Prynce & T.I.
19. Rhinestone Doo Rag
20. Young World f. Vince Staples & G Perico
21. My People Free f. Ashley Sorrell
22. Hero f. White Gold

You must be logged in to post a comment Login

Follow by Email